Video Fitness Forum  

Go Back   Video Fitness Forum > Video Fitness Reader Forum > General Discussion
Support VF Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Notices

Old 09-28-11, 12:38 PM  
MJ525

Where would you start with kettlebells?

The Kettlebell Revolution with Missy Beaver or Lauren Brooks Body Sculpt and Conditioning.

I was also looking at Reinhardt Kettlebell System and Kettlworks any advice on anything kettlebell will be appreciated.

I've been wanting to try for awhile, but the programs are pricey so I want something for beginners and also something I can grow with.

What size kettlebell should I start with?
Old 09-28-11, 12:48 PM  
toaster
Exchange Moderator

Hi! I am new to kettlebells myself; just started in the past month.

What's your level of fitness? I'm a high intermediate exerciser who works out 6-7 days per week, so I jumped in at a bit higher level than someone else might have been able to. I had originally planned to purchase a 10 lb. KB, but I think that would have been way too light for me. What helped me a lot was first practicing KB moves with a dumbbell--I basically just did swings (after watching lots of online tutorials), starting with 10 lbs. and then quickly moving to 15 lbs. Based on this, I decided to purchase a 8 kg (18 lg) KB. I think if you can practice a bit with a dumbbell ahead of time, you will get a feel for how much weight you can handle.

My first DVD was actually Angie Miller's Kettlebell Bootcamp. Not everyone would recommend this because it is more of a "fusion" kettlebell workout, but I enjoy it, and it was nice b/c it also helped me to bridge the gap between using a dumbbell first then moving to a kettlebell. Yesterday I tried Anthony & Beth's "A New Providence" for the first time--I loved it, but it was tough! However, it has a great tutorial section, so I would definitely recommend it to someone who is new to KBs (but who is an experienced exerciser). I also definitely think I can grow with this one.